Groupon Coupon, please be nice :)

I recently ran a groupon coupon, you had two options to buy, option 1, shampoo cut and style for $20 normally a $45 value. Option 2, color, or highlight, cut and conditioning treatment for $69 normally a $145 value.  How groupon works is they offer the customer half off of the usual cost of a service, the customer buys it from groupon, then the service provider (in this situation me) gets half of what groupon gets (minus credit card fees) so, I would normally get $45 for a haircut, I get $9.50.

From a business aspect you have to look at it the same as you spent the money on advertising.  Only it is money that is spent on people you know for a fact will come see you, instead of paying hundreds or dollars on a local magazine ad that you get zero feedback from.  Plus you have the opportunity to up-sale the client, you get a chance to physically speak with the client themselves and get to know them and their hair.  So in the long run it seems to be well worth it.

To the point, I ran the groupon for four days, I sold a total of 96!  Wow!  I didn’t expect that at all, and certainly wasn’t prepared for that many.  It is very exciting and I couldn’t be happier about it. But. . .

I’ve been doing hair for just over eight years.  I have established a good clientele.  My reasons for running the ad were 1, I had a lot of clients move away in search of jobs over the last two years, and 2, I got married last year, I was using it as a chance to advertise my new last name.

Over the past week between my wonderful regular clients, Valentines, and the groupon, my weeks have booked out!  Most groupon clients call wanting in the day they call.  A client today even argued with me when I couldn’t fit her and her daughter in for colors before the weekend.

I’m sorry I’m not able to fit everyone in.  But there are only so many hours I can work.  Anyone who thinks being a hairstylist isn’t a physical job, try standing in once place (not walking around a room, in one place) for a ten-hour shift, it’ll make you think twice.  I’m only 25 and after three long hard days my knees ache like you wouldn’t believe.

So thank you groupon, thank you all my clients existing and new, just please try to understand and be nice! 🙂

2 comments on “Groupon Coupon, please be nice :)

  1. Carrie berry says:

    You will be great. And always think in the long term. Be as nice as possible when clients are getting attitude about when they can get in but there is only so much you can do. And not every client is worth fighting for, bend backwards for the ones you wouldn’t mind seeing every 9 weeks. Let the few butt heads make someone else miserable.

Leave a Reply

